Things That Made Me Smile This Week

My blog has moved and changed name to DESIGN SODA, I’d love it if you followed along with my new content there.

 

  1. Stationary at Present & Correct, amongst the pastel coloured masking tapes and geometric notebooks, the items I most love are these painted wooden rulers and vintage French Postcard books.                                          Present and correct rulers Present and correct rulers 1 French Postcards french postcards
  2. One thing that we are spoilt for choice with in Tooting, other than curry houses, are Indian sweet shops which I adore. I never quite know what I’m ordering and can be a bit of a magpie with the brightly coloured & edible silver leafed ones but my sweet tooth loves these amazingly bright phantasmagorical sweets.                             IMG_0014 Processed with VSCOcam with se1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset IMG_0013
  3. There is almost nothing that thrills me more than cheap interior goods when the high street gets it right, and looking at the press shows for Debenhams Spring 2014 I think I can confidently assert that they have nailed it. I see both a pelican lamp designed by Abigail Ahern and a brass pineapple that I simply must have, but there are also some lovely entomology cross stitch cushions and fab geometrics, behold:                                                                     Abigail ahern debenhams pelican lamp 2014 Debenhams ss2014
  4. The Christmas season at Kew Gardens where they plan to install a fabulously illuminated trail through the winter landscape, a Christmas market, Santa’s grotto and this gorgeous carousel. Running from November 28-4 January.Christmas at Kew Gardens
  5. The 1952 film Pleasure Garden which I watched this week, its very short at just over 30 minutes, set against the ruins of the Crystal palace, a quaint bizarre piece of burlesque. Really interesting to see what stood of the original derelict building and grounds just after the fire in light of the new plans announced last month to rebuild the palace and gardens. BFI Pleasure garden Crystal palace

    My blog has moved and changed name to DESIGN SODA, I’d love it if you followed along with my new content there.

2 thoughts on “Things That Made Me Smile This Week

  1. i must say i have always love the idea of a rebuilt crystal palace and would love to see what they can do about redoing it…i think this year i might just hit up kew gardens and see everything they have to offer! oh and by the way – LOVE the pelican lamp its gorgeous and you MUST have it!

    • Hehe, I’m glad you endorse my feeling of entitlement with the pelican. Maybe we could do a group visit to kew? I agree, very intrigued about a rebuilt crystal palace but have heard it might not be open access which would be a shame and I hope it’s done with integrity not just a shoddy piece of tourism… Xxx

Leave a Reply

