Things That Made Me Smile This Week

My blog has moved and changed name to DESIGN SODA, I’d love it if you followed along with my new content there.

 

  1. I am currently having great fun thinking about influences for our imminent bedroom make-over, from Victoriana to the Grand Tours, to Vintage Circus and my  favourite of preferences Natural History. Here are some of my favourite inspirations (incuding some I have bought) from an online trawl of the vintage bazaar:                                                Vintage The THREE STORKS Safety Match Box Made by Tidaholm Sweden Vintage Hollywood Regency Brass Pineapple Trinket Holders Sternocera Aeguisignata Jewel Beetles Taxidermy                 Vintage brass plate with Bedouin camel and palm tree Millefiori Paperweight Vintage Fly Metalwork Ashtray Circus Sideshow pendant lamp shade $T2eC16VHJH4FHdK)ZCVoBSM5!OyrQQ~~60_57 $(KGrHqNHJB8FIg7ZzDjmBSNHhef2dg~~60_12 Stork Club Match BoxOyster Shell $T2eC16RHJH8FHRMnEglbBR6UoKT)c!~~60_12
  2. Bargain Flowers – I have been letting my window boxes quietly wilt back for the last few weeks with my geraniums now the only stalwarts left. Delightfully without giving too much thought to what I will pot for winter I happened across this bargain at Lidl – purple flowering winter heather 6 for £4.99.IMG_7054
  3. A blog that recently launched called Destination Modernism, it’s a travel design blog on modernist architecture made for the kinds of people who pick holiday destinations according to buildings – namely me. Outside of Le Corbussier and Bauhaus there are so many places I would love to visit to see the architecture of – Trulli’s in Puglia, the Yali’s of Istanbul and my true hearts desire –  The Flat Iron Building, The Chrysler &The Empire State in New York.destination blog
  4. Lazy Sundays and simple accomplishments, this Sunday I finally got around to using a broken drawer from eBay as a photo frame and lined it with a wallpaper sample that’s been hanging around for ages, it will be hung on the wall somewhere in the bedroom, just not sure what I’m going to put inside it yet…IMG_7134
  5. Choosing the colour for our bedroom, this has slightly driven me to distraction because paint lies! It says Celestial Blue but is in fact green etc, this is testing my proclivity to always choose green, however I am always delighted to be looking at new colours, this is my first batch of tester pots:Blue & Green Tester Pots

    My blog has moved and changed name to DESIGN SODA, I’d love it if you followed along with my new content there.

     

Leave a Reply

