What The Mice Saw From The Promenade…Part 1

My blog has moved and changed name to DESIGN SODA, I’d love it if you followed along with my new content there.

There’s nothing I love more than visiting a new English seaside resort and we seem to have notched up quite a few this summer, sigh.  So in the first of a series of photo diaries I give you Scarborough on Yorkshire’s East Coast. It’s a fabulous town, full of beautiful Victorian architecture, both decaying splendor and starkly cared for beauty, there is an authentic British beach that feels like the shore that time forgot, all kiss me quick and bus mans holidays with a particular charm of its own. Unfortunately my phone ran out of battery on this part but here is what I did capture (excuse the slightly over zealous use of Instagram filters):

IMG_5533

   The fully operational Bandstand attached to Scarborough Spa.

IMG_5534

      Scarborough Spa, the first Seaside Spa town in the UK.

IMG_5694

                      A local tailor's shop.

IMG_5537

A Victorian mansion block with a distinct Fortnum & Mason sugar coated
                        Regency flavour.

IMG_5539

photoscarborough

IMG_5668

  A solitary piece of Art Deco amongst the architectural chintz.

IMG_5667

 Arabesque Pub (an homage to the Turkish blood in my husbands line).

IMG_5357

Beautiful parade of four storey period houses that Dan's family are 
                   the lucky occupiers of.

IMG_5532

 The Grand Hotel after its halcyon days have long since disappeared.

IMG_5535

        Scarborough Spa from the walk down the Esplanade.

IMG_5705

                           The Tram.

scarborough

                   North Side Pleasure Beach.

IMG_5536

                     Bandstand and deckchairs.

My blog has moved and changed name to DESIGN SODA, I’d love it if you followed along with my new content there.

 

2 thoughts on “What The Mice Saw From The Promenade…Part 1

Leave a Reply

