Bathroom Ideas – Magpies and Suds

My blog has moved and changed name to DESIGN SODA, I’d love it if you followed along with my new content there.

 

bathroom ideasSo, I’m doing a lazy post today as we have too much kitchen going on to breathe, but in the midst of kitchen chaos I have been thinking about what to do with our tiny bathroom. There’s nothing really wrong with our bathroom, compared to the horrendously dated earthy colors and horrid textures in the rest of the flat, the bathroom is relatively modern and clinical. However, I am really bored with it being such a blank canvas, not bored enough to spend a fortune but am thinking of updating it by painting the walls, re-tiling the floor, replacing the sink and making a feature splashback for it.

Above is my current mood board, for the basics I’m thinking the walls should be painted in Blue’s Blue by The Paint and Paper Library, I love this colour, could simply drown in it. Blues-BlueThe floor is going to be flanked in white hexagonal tiles with black grout as shown in this picture from an old issue of Elle deco: bathroom idea 001But I also really like this Merola tile: tilesI prefer the rustic to modern in bathrooms and my dream bathroom would either be Art Deco or Moroccan in style. As I am a style magpie, I have decided to combine the two. I am totally in love with these Targa tiles from Fired Earth: mtarga_1 newmarrakechroom_1_2

They are eye wateringly expensive, so I have decided to have four rows, two rows in pattern, one in yellow and one in turquoise, as a splash back behind this charming Ikea Hemnes sink. I think you can channel the Marrakech look in a bathroom without going wall to wall and in the spirit of the bazaar I also really love these metallic mirrors from John lewis, the smallest one is definitely destined for the bathroom. 13c_02_hi_240_01In the arc of Art Deco and to marry in with the floor tiles we have a scissor armed pull-out shaving mirror and I think one of these Dualit retro scales would be perfect. Another bathroom I tore from a design mag in the last year and adore is this art deco style one, I Love, Love, Love yellow and white as colour combination, so classically Italian and fresh.bathroom deco 001Finally here are three of my favourite bathrooms found on Pinterest, the first is Chloe Sevigny’s, I have the biggest crush on her home:

 975241310_de75f27771 3e9395ad0ae32350686eadaa7aff65b0 fa61e6a9acc4c642d19789f9c542394c

My blog has moved and changed name to DESIGN SODA, I’d love it if you followed along with my new content there.

 

Leave a Reply

